Youth and Education VOD.jpg
Teacher of the Year Thumb.jpg
Scout of the Year Thumb.jpg
Voice of Democracy Competition

Established in 1947, our Voice of Democracy audio-essay program provides high school students with the unique opportunity to express themselves in regards to a democratic and patriotic-themed recorded essay. Each year, more than 51,000 9-12 grade students from across the country enter to win their share of more than $1.9 million in educational scholarships and incentives awarded through the program.

Read the rules and eligibility requirements, and download the 2021-22 entry form application, as all student entries must be submitted to a sponsoring local VFW Post by midnight, Oct. 31.

The 2021-22 theme is:
America: Where Do We Go From Here?

2021 Post Winner(s) - Amanda Collingham and Sophia Wagner

Runner(s) Up - Anna Shapley and William Stanton

2020 Post Winners - Jacy Duffy and Caelan Patel

Runners Up - William Stanton and Hattie Tobery

2019 Post Winner - Caroline Stanton

Runner Up - Sophia Wagner

Patriots Pen Essay Contest

Each year more than 138,000 students in grades 6-8 enter the VFW’s Patriot’s Pen youth essay contest for a chance to win their share of more than $900,000 in state and national awards. Each first place state winner receives a minimum of $500 at the national level, and the national first place winner wins $5,000 and an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C.

The essay contest encourages young minds to examine America’s history, along with their own experiences in modern American society, by drafting a 300- to 400-word essay, expressing their views based on a patriotic theme chosen by the VFW Commander-in-Chief. Want to apply? Read the rules and eligibility requirements, and download the 2021-22 entry form application as all student entries must be submitted to a sponsoring local VFW Post by midnight, Oct. 31.

The 2021-22 theme is:
How Can I Be A Good American?

2021 Post Winner(s) - Charlotte Benfer and Caitlyn Brown

Runner(s) Up - Anya Neufeld and Katie Reed

2020 Post Winner - Dakota Clemens

Runner Up - Lucy Welch

2019 Post Winner - Amanda Collingham

Runner Up - Isabella Webb

Scout of The Year

Some of our earliest ties to the community involve youth groups and perhaps none are stronger or more lasting than the relationship between the VFW and America's scouting organizations. In fact, our partnership with the Boy Scouts of America dates back to 1915 when VFW Post 2100 helped to establish Troop 1 in Everett, Washington.

Our Scout of the Year program provides members of the Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts who display standout citizenship, patriotism and love of country with the opportunity to be rewarded with college scholarships of up to $5,000. 

Before submitting your Scout of the Year application, please review the rules and eligibility requirements.


CW4 Bill Ruth VFW Post 10076 of Mount Airy is proud to announce our scholarship program for this year.


Five scholarships will be awarded in the upcoming year:

  • Sam Jewell Memorial Scholarship

  • Frank Dertzbaugh Sr. Memorial Scholarship

  • Robert Stevenson Scholarship

  • Bill Ruth Memorial Scholarship

  • Post Auxiliary Scholarship

At least one of the above mentioned scholarships will be awarded to a graduating high school student.


General Information can be found at these links:  [MS Word version] [PDF version]

Applications can be downloaded here: [MS Word version] [PDF version]


All applications must be received no later than May 1st.  For further information, call 301-829-1682.

National Citizenship Education Teacher of the Year

Without our nation’s veterans, America wouldn't be the great nation it is today. Our youth deserve to learn about our rich history, traditions and the role of our veterans in creating and shaping America.

The VFW Teacher of the Year award contest recognizes three exceptional teachers for their outstanding commitment to teaching Americanism and patriotism to their students. Each year, a certified/licensed elementary, junior high and high school teacher whose curriculum focuses on citizenship education topics can be nominated for the Smart/Maher VFW National Citizenship Education Teacher Award. National Winners receive:

A $1,000 award for professional development expenses.
A $1,000 award for his/her school.

Two award plaques: one for the teacher, the other for his/her school.

Please review the rules and eligibility requirements and, check back soon for the 2021 nomination form so you can nominate a teacher you know.

2020 Post Winners - Judith Bohn and Rebecca Ewen


2019 Post Winner - Rebecca Ewen

Public Servant National Awards
Law Enforcement, Firefighter, Emergency Services

Our Post will submit an applicant to the Department of Maryland no later than January 1, 2021. Please contact Commander Chad Wright at for more information.